7 years of Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana: What is it and how to get the grant?


The Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana (PMAY) is a central government flagship program aimed at boosting home ownership in the country. It was launched by Prime Minister Narendra Modi in June 2015 with a mission to achieve “housing for all” by 2022. It is implemented by the Ministry of Housing and Urban Affairs (MoHUA). The program is divided into two parts: the Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana-Urban or PMAY-U and the Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana-Rural or PMAY-R. The Center chooses the names of eligible candidates and adds them to a list. Here’s everything you need to know about the PMAY diet.

Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana completes 7 years

The Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana was launched on June 25, 2015 and it ends seven on Friday. To commemorate the 7th anniversary of the scheme, the Ministry of Housing and Urban Affairs is said to have organized an event chaired by Ministry Secretary Manoj Joshi. An e-book highlighting the program’s achievements was also launched at the event.

What is Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana?

Under the PMAY program, the government provides a subsidy on loans available for the purchase, construction, extension or improvement of a house. The program caters to the Weakest Economic Sections (EWS), Low Income Groups (LIG) and Middle Income Groups (MIG) of society.

It was launched with a target to complete 2.7 crore houses by 2022. So far, 1.8 crore houses have been built, almost 67% of the goal. The program is converged with other government programs to ensure homes have toilets and have access to electricity and clean water.

What are the components of PM Awas Yojana?

There are four main components of the diet.

Credit Subsidy: Under PMAY’s credit-linked subsidy program, the government provides interest subsidy of 6.5% for EWS and LIG categories, 4% for MIG-I category and 3% for the MIG-II category on housing loans for a period of 20 years. The government is offering a maximum subsidy of Rs 2.67 lakh on home loan interest.

Slum upgrading: This part of the program aims to redevelop slums using land as a resource in partnership with private organizations. The Center determines house prices and the beneficiary’s contribution (if any) is decided by the respective state government or union territory.

Affordable Housing in Partnership: Under this scheme, the government provides financial assistance of Rs. 1.5 lakh to EWS families for the purchase of houses. The State and the UTs can partner with the private sector to develop such projects. Preference in allocation may be given to persons with physical disabilities, the elderly, SCs and STs and other vulnerable sections of society.

Beneficiary-Driven Construction or Improvement Subsidy: This component aims to financially assist SAP families in the construction of a new home or the improvement of an existing one. EWS households can avail a benefit of Rs 1.5 lakh from the central government under this scheme.

Who can benefit from the scheme?

Here are the eligibility conditions to benefit from the PMAY program.

• The beneficiary must not be over 70 at the end of the repayment period.

• Annual family income limit is Rs 3 lakh per annum for EWS category, Rs 3-6 lakh for LIG category, Rs 6-12 lakh for MIG-I and Rs 12-18 lakh for MIG-II group .

• The applicant should not own a house in any part of India.

• The applicant must not have taken advantage of any housing program offered by central or state governments.

How to subscribe to the PMAY plan online?

• To apply for the PMAY program online, follow these steps:

• Identify the category in which you qualify for PMAY.

• Visit the official PMAY website.

• Click on “Citizen Assessment” in the main menu and select the appropriate applicant category.

• You will be redirected to a new page. Enter your Aadhaar details.

• Complete the form with your personal information, your income, your bank account and your residence.

• Enter the captcha code, verify your details and submit the form.

How to apply for the PMAY program offline?

You can also apply for the PMAY program offline by visiting a government-approved Shared Service Center (SCC). Complete the offline application form and pay the required fee.

How can you verify your name in the PMAY list?


• Visit the official PMAY-Urban website: pmaymis.gov.in

• Select the “Find a beneficiary” tab and choose the “Search by name” option from the drop-down menu.

• Enter the name and click on the ‘Search’ button.

• You will then have access to the PMAY-Urban list.


• Visit the official PMAY-Gramin website: pmayg.nic.in

• Click on the ‘Stakeholder’ tab and choose the ‘IAY/PMAYG beneficiary’ option.

• Enter the registration number and click on the ‘Search’ button.

If you don’t have a registration number, go to the Advanced Search option and enter details such as name, BPL number, penalty order, etc., before clicking the “Search” button .


About Author

Comments are closed.